Sweet Potato and Beetroot Soup

I remember the first time I ever saw beetroot, my mum made it with a salad and I looked like a shocked whatsapp emoji when I saw it (:o😱) because of its striking colour!
Fast forward years later and it’s one of my favourite vegetables.
To make this creamy sweet potato and beetroot soup I used:

small white onion, chopped
3 large beetroots
1 large sweet potato
1-2 tsp cumin seeds
4 cups vegetable stock
2 garlic cloves
2 tablespoons of vegetable oil

Directions
Gently heat the oil in a large saucepan. Add the onions are tender.
Add in the cumin seeds and allow to infuse for a minute.
Meanwhile, chop the beetroot and sweet potato into cubes.
Add to the onions and stir briefly.
Add the vegetable stock and gently simmer for 15-20 minutes (until the beetroot is soft). Remove from the heat and blend.

image

23 thoughts on “Sweet Potato and Beetroot Soup

  1. I cannot stop thinking about a berry sorbet looking at your photo. It is hot here and all I can think about is something cooling! Beautiful. My imagination is running. πŸ™‚

    Like

Leave a Reply

